• Department Directory Header

Library Media Faculty & Staff

Last Name First Name Department Job Title Extension Direct # (480) Email
Walker Brandy Library Librarian, Dept. Chair, Rio Salado Liaison 50150 bwalker@tempeunion.org
Stanford Denise Library Information Support Specialist 50153 dstanford@tempeunion.org
Patterson Kathleen Library Information Support Specialist 50151 kpatterson@tempeunion.org
Perry Jill Library Information Support Specialist 50152 388.8941 jperry@tempeunion.org
Schafer Melissa IT Technology Trainer 50412 mschafer@tempeunion.org
Allen Brian TIIS TIIS Support Technician 50411 baallen@tempeunion.org

Library Services

  • In Curriculum:

    • Purchase books and AV materials to support your curriculum and professional needs.
    • Collaboratively plan with your lessons for integrating information skills into your existing curriculum. 
    • Co-teach a lesson with you upon which we have collaborated in the library or lab.
    • Assist in selecting books of appropriate interest, reading level or genre or AV items that your class will use for a particular lesson.
    • Assist in promoting reading in your classroom for both information and pleasure.
    • Support your efforts in research-based teaching and learning. 
    • Provide a cart of books that students can use in the library for a specific assignment.
    • Give book talks to encourage student reading of fiction or non-fiction books.

    In Technology:

    • Trouble-shoot school/district hardware and software.
    • Develop a list of websites for your students to use for an assignment.
    • Instruct classes (and staff) on the use of various online databases purchased for your and student use.
    • Instruct classes (and staff) on the use of the Destiny catalog of items and eBooks in the MP library collection.
    • Help you with ideas for integrating Universal Search or databases into your lessons
    • Provide assistance to staff members in using the computers and printers in the library.

    In Audio-Visual:

    • Provide media equipment not provided by your department.
    • Provide lamination services for your instructional needs.
    • Troubleshoot AV equipment.
    • Install projector bulbs provided for by your department.
    • Assist you with problems in the computer labs.
    • Facilitate checkout of AV non-departmental equipment.