Tempe Union High School District Election Results

  • On Nov. 8, 2016, voters in the Tempe Union High School District re-elected Governing Board President Sandy Lowe and Member Michelle Helm to four-year terms and also elected Berdetta Hodge, a graduate of Tempe Union and District parent. She will be sworn in in January to fill the seat that will be vacated by Moses Sanchez.
    With 100% of precincts reporting, here are the results according to the Maricopa County Recorder’s Office:
    Tempe Union Governing Board (3 seats available)
    Michelle Helm: 42,128 votes
    Sandy K. Lowe 34,604 votes
    Berdetta Hodge 28,188 votes
    Scott Ryan: 27,367 votes
    Don C. Fletcher: 24,527 votes
    Andres Adan Barraza: 22,657 votes
    Voters also approved Tempe Union’s Special Election Question, giving the Governing Board authorization to sell, lease or exchange two District-owned undeveloped land parcels within its boundaries. The District has no fully developed proposals at this time, but the approval allows the Governing Board to consider options and make decisions regarding the property if it was deemed to be advantageous to the District and its patrons.
    Tempe Union Question
    Yes 64,072 votes
    No 32,458 votes
    TUHSD welcomes Ms. Hodge and thanks the community for voting and the candidates for their desire to service on the Governing Board.