• The Counseling Department staffs seven Counselors, a Career Technician, a part-time Social Worker, and the Counseling Office Assistant.
    Services Include:

    • Academic Advising
    • Career Counseling
    • Group Counseling
    • Personal Social Counseling

     Counseling Duties
    Amie Hickel
    Amie Hickel, M.Ed.
    Department Chair
    ahickel@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70137
    Class of 2021 Gifted Counselor
    Grades 9-12 U-Z
    NCAA Athletics Liaison
    Testing Coordinator 
     
     
    Mickey Krebs
    Mickey Krebs, M.Ed.
    Grades 10-12 K-O

    mkrebs@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70135
    Thunder Day
    Thunder Force Links Liaison 
    RTI Liaison 
     

    Kate Dowd

     
    Kate Dowd, M.Ed.
    Grades 10-12 A-De
    kdowd@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70134
    AP Coordinator
    Rio Registration Team
    Testing Coordinator
    Thunder Day
    Thunder Force Links Liaison
     
     
    Helen Hale
     
    Helen Hale, MSW
    Grades 10-12 P-T
    hhale@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70138
    McKinney-Vento Liaison
    Crisis Counselor
    Dual Enrollment Coordinator
    EVIT Liaison
     
     
    Kari Fischer
     
    Kari Fischer, M.Ed.
    Classes of 2018, 2019, 2020 Gifted Counselor
    kfischer@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70136
    College Visitation Coordinator
    Continuous Improvement Team
    Department Technology Liaison/Data
    Collection
    Pre-College Program Coordinator
    Rio Registration Team
    Scholarship/Financial Aid
     
     
    Shawna Thue
     
    Shawna Thue, M.Ed.
    Freshman/Transition Counselor
    sthue@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70133
    Military Liaison
    RTI Liaison
    Site Based Council Co-Chair
    Karen Hinds  
    Karen Hinds, M.Ed.
    Grades 10-12 Di-J
    khinds@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70132
    Native American Liaison
    SSD/504 Liaison 
    Special Olympics Coach
    Thunder Buddies Sponsor
     
     
    Michele Thompson
    Counseling Department Assistant

    mthompson@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70131
    College Visitation Scheduling
    Child Find Program Coordinator
    Records Request Coordinator
    Counseling TA Coordinator
    Counseling Communication Coordinator


     
     
     

Guidance Office Contact