City of Tempe, Tempe schools honor students during annual Youthfest Awards

Tempe Union High School District, the City of Tempe and the Tempe Diablos honored 45 students at the 22nd Annual Youthfest banquet, celebrating Changemakers and Courage Award winners.

Courage Awards are given to students who courageously overcome incredible adversity. They choose to make their education a priority while facing life challenging events, such as personal and family situation.

2019 Court Award Winners:

  • Elsa Hortareas, Tempe High School
  • Debbie Hoopes, Kyrene Middle School
  • Stephen Green, Marcos de Niza
  • Xavier Lockett, Mountain Pointe
  • Charlotte Fornasiero, McClintock
  • Ashley Blout, Tempe High School
  • Evi Johnson, ASPIRE Academy @ Connolly Middle School
  • Anya Griffin, Corona del Sol
  • Andrew Zani, Tempe High School

Courage Award winners 2019

Changemakers are students who are committed to a cause, dedicating themselves to making the world a better place. Whether it's on their school campus or in our community, when they see a problem, they take meaningful action to create positive change.

Tempe High School

  • Diana Gomez
  • Daniela Quintero
  • Jose Bernal
  • Nimo Guhad
  • Eddy Vega Beltran

Corona del Sol

  • Brooke Schmidt
  • Melanie Furman
  • Zhaobo Zhang
  • Carter Bower
  • Talia Wise

McClintock High School

  • Kendra Parker
  • Emilie Berthiaume
  • Thaddaeus Canuel
  • Justice Harasha
  • Anjelina Steven

Marcos de Niza

  • Shannon West
  • Megan Norrish
  • Daniella Peinado
  • Lindsey Waggerby
  • Regan Hatch

Mountain Pointe High School

  • Jessica Calabrese
  • Christian Perez
  • Clara Jauregui
  • Hope Swatton
  • Jenna Barabash

Desert Vista High School

  • Jessica Ives
  • Armando Montero
  • Margaret Braun
  • Daanish Daudi
  • Zachary Hills

Compadre Academy

  • Kiley McCarty
  • Maria Ordonez
  • Alyssa Jauregui
  • Jonathan Castro Lupercio
  • Kristopher Mathias