Students, teachers honored during district CTE Awards Night

Students and teachers from all seven Tempe Union High School District schools were honored during the annual Career and Technical Education awards night.

Students were recognized for completing their CTE program area, shaking hands with district office officials and CTE director Stephanie Fremer.

One student per school was chosen as the CTE student of the year, exemplifying the hard work and dedication the CTE department encourages students to put toward their field of interest.

Meet our Student of the Year winners: 

  • Alexis De La Garza, Tempe High School - Alexis completed the Marketing program, and also served as THS DECA president and was a first place winner in the Verizon Innovation competition.
  • Kendra Parker, McClintock High School - Kendra completed the Early Childhood Education program.
  • McKenna Chavez, Marcos de Niza - McKenna completed the Early Childhood Education program, and also served president of Ed Rising and particpated in Smiles for Christmas.
  • Haley Spracale, Corona del Sol - Haley completed the Digital Communications program, and also worked on the Sunrise Newspaper and the Corona Yearbook during her time as an Aztec.
  • Richard Nguyen, Mountain Pointe - Richard completed the Business Management and Accounting program.
  • Christopher Page, Desert Vista - Chris completed the Business Operations program. 
  • Alexis Osuna, Compadre Academy. Alexis is one of the first Compadre Academy students to complete the Law and Public Safety program.

 The district office also recognized all of our nominated CTE Teacher of the Year candidates. The nominees are:

  • Scot Wattawa, Tempe - Digital photography
  • Karen Crane, McClintock - Film & TV
  • Lindsey Danskin, Marcos de Niza - Law and Public Safety
  • Michael Lohmann, Corona del sol - Business
  • Claudia Costin, Mountain Pointe - Sports Medicine 
  • Jeremy Williams, Desert Vista - Biotechnology
  • Richard Jones, Compadre Academy - Law & Public Safety and Business

Marcos de Niza's Lindsey Danskin was named the 2019 CTE Teacher of the Year for the Tempe Union High School District. Her dedication to the Law and Public Safety program, along with 

The 2019 Program of the Year was the Film & TV Production, led by Karen Crane at McClintock High School. The program reached new heights when students from across the district competed in a district-wide film festival. Karen was also given a $1,000 bonus to help supplement her classroom.

Mesa Community College also honored their 2019 CTE Scholarship Award Winner, Rosalinda Rebozo from Marcos de Niza High School. Rosalinda, who completed the Early Childhood Education program as a Padre, will continue her education at MCC.

Several CTE students were also chosen as the first ever Career Ready Tempe interns, a program created by the City of Tempe and Tempe Chamber of Commerce to connect budding juniors and seniors with mentors in highly sought-after fields in the industry. They will complete a six-week, paid internship this summer with businesses around the city. Our 2019 Career Ready Tempe interns are:

  • James Knight, Marcos de Niza - Arizona Tax Advisors
  • Diamond montano, Marcos de Niza - Sandler training
  • Benjamin Moreno, McClintock - Landings Credit Union
  • Anton Prim Seril, Marcos de Niza - Printing Specialists
  • Cierra Weatherly, McClintock - Special Moments Catering & Events
  • Diana Bernal Socha, Tempe High - Tempe Elementary School District
  • Cesar Rebollo, McClintock - Wilson Electrics Services
  • Maryam Younan, McClintock - Remitter International

For more on Career and Technical Education at Tempe Union High School District, please visit: