Tempe High, Marcos de Niza teachers honored during annual Tempe Diablos Excellence in Education

Seven teachers and staff from the Tempe Union High School District were honored during the annual Tempe Diablos Excellence in Education awards night.

The annual awards night honors teachers and staff from Tempe Elementary School District, Kyrene School District and Tempe Union High School District for their hard work and dedication to educating students in Tempe.

The 2019 Awards Winners are:

Class Act Award - Danielle Copeland, Tempe High

Danielle is the Administrative Assistant to the Tempe High Principal. She goes above and beyond to help everyone at Tempe High, all with a bright smile and warm personality.

Inspiration Award - Scott Berren, Tempe High

Scott Berren is a Marketing and Business teacher at Tempe High School. Scott teaches Marketing, Advanced Marketing, Financial Planning and Sports and Entertainment Marketing, and leads the DECA club.

High Impact Award - Brian Walker, Tempe High

Brian Walker is the Varisty Football Coach at Tempe High School, where he grooms students on his team into tomorrow's leaders. Brian is also a Physical Education Teacher.

Leadership Award - Catherine Phalen, Tempe High

Catherine Phalen is a Freshman Science Teacher at Tempe High School, where she encourages her students to achieve. Katie also serves as the Science Department Chair, a role that allows her to be a leaders and mentor for other faculty and staff at Tempe High.

Lifetime Achievement Award - Jasen Evoy, Marcos de Niza

Jasen Evoy has been at Marcos de Niza since 1998, and presently serves as the Instructional Lead for the Fine Arts. While leading the charge for the Marcos de Niza Fine Arts Academy, he also teaches Ceramics levels 1 through 8 and AP Art History.

Rising Star Award - Ariana Gowda, Tempe High

Ariana Gowda teaches Biology and AVID at Tempe High. She also helps lead the H.O.P.E. Academy - the Health Occupation Preparatory Education Academy - a partnership between Tempe High, Tempe St. Luke’s Hospital and Mesa Community College and presents core courses (Math, Science, Social Studies, and English) with a medical focus. 

Teacher of the Year - Robert Owen-Jones, Marcos de Niza

Robert, better known as Mr. OJ on campus, is a powerhouse in the English Department. He teaches AP Literature, AP Language and Composition and Sophomore English.

The evening also honored dozens of students from the Tempe Union High School District who will be receiving the Tempe Diablos Scholarship. 

The Tempe Diablos provide scholarships to qualified, well-rounded students who demonstrate excellence in the classroom, and who show extracurricular involvement in their school and/or community. Applicants should show strong leadership abilities, communication skills, and financial need.

For more on the Tempe Diablos Excellence in Education event, visit: https://www.tempediablos.org/excellence-in-education/