Corona del Sol and Desert Vista Film and TV Students Honored at 2021 AIPA State Awards

Congratulations to our [cdstv] and DVTV current students and alumni who were honored at the 2021 Arizona Interscholastic Press Association (AIPA) State Awards! The Aztecs of [cdstv] also took home 1st place in General Excellence for Broadcasting! Special thanks to Benjamin Forbes, Corona del Sol’s Film and TV teacher, and Michelle Coro, Desert Vista’s Film and TV teacher, for all they do in teaching our students and allowing their creativity to shine. A complete list of the students who were honored by the AIPA from both of our schools can be found below. Way to go Corona del Sol and Desert Vista Film and TV students and alumni!

Corona del Sol

News Story:

Elian Alvarez- National Strawberry Day- Honorable Mention

Lucier Andrew- Roblox Stonks- Excellent Award

Leah Gunter- Good News Recap- Superior Award

Feature Story:

Chandler Carlisle- TheatreWorks Film- Honorable Mention Award

Leah Gunter- National Cookie Day- Honorable Mention Award

Katie Parsons- Small Businesses During COVID- Excellent Award

Chandler Carlisle and Layla Reif- Aztecs Unsolved- Excellent Award


Chandler Carlisle- Get Your Grades Up- Honorable Mention Award

Chandler Carlisle- Return to School- Excellent Award

Short Film:

Chandler Carlisle and Layla Reif- Jesse and Taylor’s Totally Epic High School Bucket List- Excellent Award

Leah Gunter and Mason Rich- Pitch Day- Superior Award


Zoe Karpowicz and Leia Gibbs- Andy Warhol- Honorable Mention Award

Chandler Carlisle- Hiking Red Mountain- Honorable Mention Award


Desert Vista

Feature Story:

Clare Luken - Making your own Chick-Fil-A from Home - Honorable Mention Award


Tyler Curry - Racism needs to end - Superior Award


Hailey Manani - Plastic in our Ocean - Excellent Award

News Anchor:

Annie Fuentes Romero - News Anchor - Excellent Award

Short Film:

Tre Lobracco - "The Bucket List" - Honorable Mention Award


Leila Wrskchka - "Why do we like art?" - Excellent Award

Kayler Catron and Carson White - "Global Warming: all facts no fiction - Superior Award


Sophia Kahlert - "KSL"- Honorable Mention Award

Hailey Kessler - "The Real Talk" - Excellent Award


Tre Lobracco - DVTV - Honorable Mention Award