TUHSD 2017 Courage & Changemakers Awards


Congratulations Students!


City of Tempe Youth Fest 2017 Logo 2017 Courage Award Recipients

This award celebrates students who make their education a priority while courageously overcoming life challenging situations.

Anna Anselone – Mountain Pointe
Monica Martinez Aviles – Tempe High
Feliz Gonzalez – Compadre
Evan Johnson – Desert Vista
Aasiya Muhammad-Bey – Compadre
Hannah Olsen – McClintock
Daniella Peinado – Marcos de Niza
Rudy Rauls – Mountain Pointe
Luz Ruiz – Tempe High

2017 Changemakers

This award recognizes juniors and seniors who demonstrate a social conscience and strive to create positive change on campus and/or in the community.

Compadre Academy
Jenna “Dani” Beck
Key’Onna Cooley
Jamal Hinton
Andrew Lopez
Franciso Mendoza
Corona del Sol High School
Ericka Boeger
Julia Cuendet
Maggie Engel
Josh Onwordi
Erica Ronda
Desert Vista High School
Bryson Barrow
Andrew Basha
Elena Kalina
Nabia Kheshtchin-Kamel
Savannah Sampson
Marcos de Niza High School
Lucy Argota
Braylen Drew
Nicole Hoke
Jakob Rivali
Cassidy Wright
McClintock High School
McKinley Becraft
Carmela Guaglianone
Zaria Guignard
Shaul Leket-Mor
Jonah Wiley
Mountain Pointe High School
Dana Beamon
Lauren Everett
Janae Jessie
Justice LeVeck
Nicole Swatton
Tempe High School
Shandy Htun
Theint Nwe
Joseph Olivas
Julio Lara Padilla
Alexis Schlotterback

Each award recipient will be invited to the Youthfest banquet on Monday, April 17, 2017.
Tempe High School’s Mariachi de Tempe and Corona del Sol’s Steel Drum Band will perform at the event, hosted by Tempe Mayor Mark Mitchell and emceed by 12 News Reporter JR Cardenas. It is sponsored by the City of Tempe and Tempe Diablos.

Download the flyer PDF